The Fruit of the Spirit Summer Project (FSSP)

I wrote this about a week ago and sent it out to a bunch of the singles at my church. Then I realized that some of you might want to participate so I’m reproducing it here. I believe it’s the shortest post on this site so far, which is reason enough to read it.

I don’t know about you, but I tend to fall away from things in the summer. We’re all busy traveling and those of us in Minnesota are busy soaking up as much Vitamin D as possible in preparation for another seven (ahem, nine?) months of winter. As a result, I end up missing things–church events, quiet times, service opportunities, etc. This inconsistency often leads to missed opportunities—for both growth and outreach.

In an effort to disrupt this pattern, I’m planning to do a little summer project. The key here is little. As in teeny, tiny.

Mark (our pastor at the Rock) has mentioned the fruit of the Spirit several times in the past few weeks and it keeps popping into my head. I thought I’d combine some weekly reading in Galatians (a short, summer-length book if ever there was one) with a weekly focus on a specific one of the fruits of the spirit listed in Galatians 5:22-23. Here’s the schedule I’m planning on using:  

Week of: Reading Fruit of the Spirit to Focus On
June 8, 2013 Galatians 1 Love
June 15, 2013 Galatians 2 Joy
June 22, 2013 Galatians 3 Peace
June 29, 2013 Galatians 4 Patience
July 6, 2013 Galatians 5 Kindness
July 13, 2013 Galatians 6 Goodness
July 20, 2013 Galatians 1 Faithfulness
July 27, 2013 Galatians 2 Gentleness
August 3, 2013 Galatians 3 Self-Control
August 10, 2013 Galatians 4 Love

For example, for week one I’ll read Galatians 1 during one of my quiet times and reflect on it (probably during my first quiet time of the week). Then I’ll brainstorm ways that I can be more loving (that week’s fruit of the spirit). I’ll probably try to find some other verses that talk about love. I’ll be intentional about praying in each of my quiet times that week that God will show me opportunities to grow in this particular area. And I’ll come up with some specific action(s) that I can do during the week that exercise exceptional love. Pretty easy, right? The goal is just to stay engaged and intentional during the summer in a way that is simple enough to fit in with my summer chaos.

Anyway, I thought it could be cool to do with some other people if any of you are interested. I don’t want to add anything to anyone’s schedule so we wouldn’t get together at all, but we could talk / email about ideas we have or things that come out of our reflection and actions each week. Or (for the overachievers among us) we could coordinate our big act of love/whatever for the week. We’ll see what happens (or doesn’t).

End of email. So I’ll be posting a few times a week as I work through this project. Which leads me into the next post… about my extremely rough start to Week 1: Love. Rough as in walking across hot coals. Slowly. With bare feet. While carrying a 150 lbs sand bag. For miles.

5 thoughts on “The Fruit of the Spirit Summer Project (FSSP)

  1. Pingback: Fruit of the Spirit Summer Project – Week 2 – JOY | Seized by Grace

  2. Pingback: Joy & Adaptation | Seized by Grace

  3. Pingback: Fruit of the Spirit Summer Project Week 3 – Peace | Seized by Grace

  4. Pingback: Can You Be At Peace Without Being Content? | Seized by Grace

  5. Pingback: The Rhythm of Patience | Seized by Grace

Leave a Reply

