Joy & Adaptation

Note: I started this post yesterday and finished it today (after being consumed in the middle there somewhere by a killer headache and hours of tax accounting….your call on which was worse). Try not to let the inconsistent use of words that indicate time (now, today, etc.) disrupt your perception of the space-time continuum.

Anyway… onwards…

As predicted, I am much happier with my progress on the FSSP topic of joy than I was with love. Maybe because joy seems, at least to me, to be much less work than love.

I enjoyed my day today despite the fact that it primarily consisted of buses, a 3 hour dentist appointment, more buses, and (currently) a massive headache. I didn’t get all the work done that I had planned and I spent a lot of time waiting (not my favorite activity). But the weather was beautiful, I was thankful that I have a job that allows for the flexibility I needed today to get to the dentist via various buses, and my new dentist dental student was funny and interesting (for those of you who like to read between the lines, that means cute).

I’m currently missing my first ever guitar lesson because I failed to plan ahead enough to go (pretty guitar + hard guitar case + bike = no dice) and I have a strong feeling that today is going to end with more than the recommended daily dose of Excedrin Migraine. But overall I’m feeling pretty good. Why? I’m pretty sure it’s because overall I’m feeling pretty grateful.

“I don’t think of all the misery, but of the beauty that still remains.”
― Anne FrankThe Diary of a Young Girl

I’m free. I’ve got room to roam and grow (both physically and spiritually) and people to do both with. And I believe that I’m the child of a God who will always direct my feet back to a joyful path no matter how many times I decide to take a detour through disaster. If that’s not a recipe for a happy life, then I don’t know what is.

The End.

Leave a Reply

