100 Faithful Days

"Increase our Faith"

I haven’t posted in a long time. And a lot has happened in my life since I did. I feel like I need to write an update post that hits the highlights–seizures, God, hilarious disasters that have happened along the way, etc. And I will. But not tonight. Tonight I’m going to pretend there hasn’t been radio silence and just jump back into sharing what’s on my mind at the moment. Indulge me, please.

So there’s this trending project called 100 Happy Days. You can read about it here. You essentially take a photo every day for 100 days of what made you happy that day and send it to them or tag it on social media. Then if you make it to 100 days in a row, they put the photos in a book for you to commemorate your achievement. The point, I think, is to slow down and inject awareness, gratitude, and creativity into your own life on a daily basis.

It’s an idea that I like a lot. Partially because I love a good bandwagon to jump on. And partially because I think people are indeed happier when they make room for awareness and gratitude in daily life.

But as I was thinking about this catchy idea, I realized that for me there’s a more direct route to happiness. A more rewarding relationship I can invest in than simply the one with myself… I’m referring, of course, to my relationship with God. A relationship that I’ve been a little checked out of lately. So I’m doing my own version of 100 Happy Days.  I’m calling it 100 Faithful Days

What is it? Simple. It’s purposefully and consistently seeking and making the Lord a priority for 100 days.

As a Christian, that’s supposed to be what every day looks like, but for me that hasn’t been true lately. I’ve been stagnating, letting busyness and laziness and 100 other ‘nesses’ crowd out Christ. I’ve been disconnected from the source of real joy. And I’ve felt the absence.

So 100 Faithful Days. What are the parameters? There’s really only one. Spending at least an hour a day with the Lord. And–and this is critical–expecting the Lord to show up. This isn’t just skimming through my Bible and checking it off my list. I want more. Thankfully the last year has shown me that if I show up with an expectant heart and focus on the Lord, I always find Him.

From a mechanical perspective, I’m going to essentially have a standing 6 a.m. date with my Bible (ahem, and some coffee). Will I move it occasionally? I’m sure I will. Sometimes I get together with people very early in the morning and pouring into others is one of the ways that I live out my faith. In those cases I’ll push my quiet time back to a later part of the day. But other than an actual meeting with someone, I’ll be seeing my Bible bright and early every morning for the next 100 days. 100 Faithful Days. Hopefully 100 Fruitful Days. (Hmm… I like that too… maybe I’ll have to do 100 Fruitful Days next where I focus on reaching out in faith on a daily basis. One thing at a time.)

Where does this ‘extra’ time come from? Primarily from cutting down on things that take up time and add little or no real value. I’m working on evaluating how I commit my time by using a filter of ‘Is this helpful to my relationship with the Lord?’ (I could do an entire different post on how useful this one question has proven to be in just a few short days…). I’m sure this area will evolve over the course of this experiment, but I know right off the bat that it’ll involve cutting my Facebook and television time down to essentially as little as possible outside of relational interactions (e.g. I’ll return a FB message, but I’m not going to be opening FB unless I get a notification about something that relates to me… or have a post to put up, etc. No scrolling and stalking and envying the fake lives of others, which is invariably how I end up spending my time when I randomly wander over to Facebook.)

This isn’t really a bandwagon at the moment. Just me in my little cart. But if this idea appeals to you and you’d like to jump on it, I’m sure I can make room for you! Anyway, I’m excited. And I’ll wrap this up now because I need to get to bed before midnight. You know, so that I’m fresh for my big date in the morning.

But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. Matthew 6:33 (ESV)

2 thoughts on “100 Faithful Days

  1. Kate,

    I stumbled upon your blog via Twitter after you mentioned one of my students (Megan Elizabeth) in your tweet. And I am so eternally thankful I did. I have been feeling very stale lately in my faith. My excuse is often that I am too tired, but the Lord knows (and I know) that I’m just lazy. I like living without accountability, even though I know I should not, and deep down inside, I feel guilty about it. Your blog lifted my spirits, not just because of the content, but because I found someone else who was experiencing the same languishing in faith that I was. Thank you.

    I will be joining you on your 100 Faithful Days. I was planning on doing something like it for the summer, scheduling in my quiet time, but this will give me more accountability.

    Thank you for being honest and being proactive. Keep blogging.

    Have a great Sunday,

    Kate

    • Hi Kate!

      Wow, this was a seriously encouraging comment to read this morning. Isn’t the Lord awesome? I love it when completely unexpected connections like this happen. Thank you so much for your honesty and vulnerability in sharing where you’re at!

      I’ll admit that 6 am felt pretty early this morning, but I got up and dove into my quiet time with more intentionality and expectation than I had in a long time and after my brain woke up, it went really well. I feel like I’m standing at the beginning of a week, ready to inject as much joy and life into it as I can. That’s a pretty drastic contrast to the past few months when Sunday mornings have felt like I’m already ‘behind’ for the week.

      Glad to have you with me! Keep in touch 🙂

      Kate

Leave a Reply

